Offering Opinions

One of the things I learned a long time ago was “Don’t tell the client how to run their business !!”.   Some clients have taken that to mean not even suggesting business process changes in and around the applications we are working on.  “Don’t tell me my business !!”

But in today’s new economic environment I am less reluctant to hold back my advice because in addition to the frustration this has caused me (having to work around wonky, stupid processes), companies NEED help to become more efficient and should be open to any suggestion that could lead to a productivity improvement as a result of a technology solution you can provide them.   If they don’t like my opinion then I will go get another client.

I know that can be tough to do, especially when clients can be hard to find, but a bad client can be a great drag on your business and your life. Don’t let fear or desperation (surely it isn’t that bad yet) get you stuck in a lose, lose situation. 

It is also VERY important that we promote our value beyond just formulae and indexes to the point where we are “perceived” as adding business value for our clients’ processes as these processes impact the work we are doing for them.

Biggus

p.s. Just to lighten things up here are some pictures that explain wny I haven’t been as productve as I could be this summer – Grandkids, dogs, dirt and water – a bad combination….

About Biggus Dickus

Dick is a consultant in London, ON Canada who specializes in Microsoft Excel and Microsoft Office Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Offering Opinions

  1. Mathias says:

    Just finished re-reading Lehane’s “A drink before the war”, which contains this nice (and relevant) piece of dialog:

    “I hired Pat, and you as well, to find certain documents. Unless you’ve brought those to the table with you, you are still working for me.”
    Angie smiled. “Patrick and I work for ourselves, Senator.”
    […] He said, “Well, exactly why did I sign that check to your agency?”
    Angie never missed a beat. “Service charges for the loan of our expertise, Senator.”

Leave a Reply

